Madhya Pradesh: First session of newly elected state Assembly to commence today

Madhya Pradesh Assembly session, First newly elected mlas, Madhya Pradesh Assembly session news, mad
Image Source : PTI (FILE) Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Mohan Yadav during Vikshit Bharat Sankalp Yatra in Ujjain

Madhya Pradesh Assembly session: The first session of the newly elected Madhya Pradesh assembly will begin in Bhopal on Monday (December 18), an official said. The four-day-long session of the 16th assembly, during which newly elected members take oath among other necessary business of the house, will end on December 21, the official said today (December 17).

The session will commence at 11:00 am on Monday. During the first two days, the newly elected MLAs will be administered the oath, while the house will elect the speaker on the third day of the session on Wednesday (December 20), he said.

Besides the speaker’s election, the official said, the governor will also address the house on Wednesday. On the last day on Thursday (December 21), necessary government business will be transacted besides the discussion on the vote of thanks on the governor’s address, he said.

MP assembly’s principal secretary AP Singh has directed the police to tighten security at the Vidhan Sabha Bhawan here in the wake of the recent Parliament security breach. Singh said that only one family member of newly elected MLAs will be allowed to enter the house on submission of Aadhaar card.

Safety arrangements:

About 1,000 security personnel will be deployed in and around the state assembly and there will be three-layered security, a police official said. Pro-tem speaker Gopal Bhargava, the senior-most MLA of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), will administer the oath of office to the new legislators and conduct business of the house before the election of speaker.

Former union minister Narendra Singh Tomar, who was elected as MLA recently from Dimani assembly seat, is already nominated by the BJP for the MP assembly speaker’s post. Meanwhile, the Congress also appointed Umang Singhar as the leader of opposition.

In the last month’s assembly elections, the BJP bagged 163 of the 230 assembly seats, posting a resounding victory and retaining power in the central state. The opposition Congress was relegated to a distant second spot with victory in 66 assembly segments, while one seat was won by the Bharat Adivasi Party.

(With PTI inputs) 

ALSO READ:​ Jitu Patwari replaces Kamal Nath as Madhya Pradesh Congress chief, Umang Singhar is new LoP

ALSO READ: Madhya Pradesh: Shivraj Singh Chouhan drives tractor, ploughs field in his village | Video

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *